Shout about these extraordinary people, and the tireless work they do to protect our most vulnerable animals.

Prince William Award for Conservation in Africa

This is a lifetime achievement award, recognising an outstanding dedication and exceptional contribution to conservation in Africa. This prestigious award is sponsored by Ninety One.  Every year, the identity of the winner is kept secret until the Awards Ceremony. A magnificent trophy is presented to the winner, as well as a grant of £40,000 towards their work. Previous winners have included Clive Stockil from Zimbabwe, Richard Bonham from Kenya, Garth Owen-Smith from Namibia, John Kahekwa from DRC,  Rian Labuschagne, former Park Manager of Zakouma National Park in Chad, and in 2018 Dr Pete Morkel from Zimbabwe, who has been key to a myriad of conservation initiatives across Africa.

This award is generously sponsored by

Dr. Carlos Lopes Pereira | Mozambique
Winner of the Prince William Award for Conservation in Africa 2019

In 2019 Dr. Carlos Lopes Pereira was awarded the lifetime achievement award by The Duke of Cambridge in recognition of his immeasurable impact in laying the foundations for protecting Mozambique’s natural resources, as well as building the institutional capacity to fight wildlife crime.  At the awards ceremony in London, Tusk CEO, Charlie Mayhew said “Without the bravery and selfless dedication of the remarkable people we are honouring tonight, it would be an uncertain future for Africa’s iconic wildlife and the communities to whom it belongs.”

You can watch Carlos’s story below or read more here.

If you’ve been inspired by Carlos’s story, learn about another finalist, or let others know about the Tusk Awards.

Join the movement

Many thanks to David Yarrow,
Tusk’s official photographer for use of his wonderful work.

Royal Patron HRH The Duke of Cambridge, KG KT

The Tusk Conservation Awards are an initiative of Tusk.

Tusk Trust Limited is a charity registered in England and Wales, No: 1186533, and a company registered in England and Wales, No: 11948023.

In the US, “The Friends of Tusk Fund” donor advised fund is administered by CAF America (Tax ID 43-1634280)