Nominations are now open

Tusk Award nominations are now open and will close on the 12th April 2024.

Please see the overall award criteria below and read on for individual award criteria.

We recommend gathering all the information and completing this nomination form on a computer and not on mobile as a number of PDF/JPG/PNG will be required.

Before you proceed, please download this guide to see all the information you will need to gather for smooth completion of the form.

Nominate a Conservation Hero for the 2024 Tusk Conservation Awards

More information on our three award categories can be found below and past alumni here.
Please email if you would like any clarifications.

All Tusk Conservation Awards Criteria

Across all three awards decisions are made based on the following eligibility criteria:

Awards will be given for:

  • Proven positive conservation impact for wildlife and community development. Their work must be based in Africa.
  • People who act as a role model and provide a level of mentorship.
  • People whose ideas are replicable or scalable in-country and across the continent.
  • Country nationals with the exception of long-term residency (15+ years) or commitment to country/region/ building capacity of local team members for future leadership.
  • People and projects that will continue into the future and are sustainable.
  • People who take a grassroots approach to their work and are inclusive of local communities.
  • Proven collaboration amongst peers and within Government structures.
  • Work that needs to be recognised and given publicity in order to thrive .
  • People that can prove ‘value’ for money and have the ability to manage grants and reporting requirements.

For the ranger award there are specific eligibility criteria

  • The nominee must be an active ranger and a citizen of an African country
  • The nominee must have worked as a ranger for more than ten years
  • Team nominations will not be eligible

Awards are not made for:

  • Self-applications.
  • Posthumously.
  • People who are undertaking pure academic research.
  • Individuals working for themselves (not part of a team).
  • Individuals working in animal welfare or the rehabilitation of captive animals.
In addition to the general eligibility criteria above please view each individual award for any addition award specific criteria.

Prince William Award for Conservation in Africa

Prince William Award for Conservation in Africa
91 Previously Investec Asset Management

Sponsored by Ninety One, this is a lifetime achievement award, given to a distinguished individual for their outstanding dedication and exceptional continued contribution to conservation in Africa. The winner will be announced during the ceremony and will receive a grant of £100,000 towards their work.

Tusk Award for Conservation in Africa

Tusk Award for Conservation in Africa
Land Rover Defender Sponsor Logo

Sponsored by Defender, this is for an individual who is judged to be an emerging leading conservationist, in recognition of their outstanding success shown in their chosen field. The three finalists are previewed on the following pages. The winner will be announced during the ceremony and will receive a grant of £75,000 towards their work. The two finalists will each receive a grant of £20,000, one of which has been sponsored by EJF Philanthropies.

Tusk Wildlife
Ranger Award

Tusk Wildlife Ranger Award
Nick Maughan Foundation

This award gives international recognition to the dedication and commitment of an individual who works in the field to protect Africa’s wildlife. The award is being sponsored by The Nick Maughan Foundation. The winner will be announced during the ceremony and will receive a grant of £30,000 towards their work.